Monday, July 26, 2010


Hair grows in the follicle in cycles. At any given moment some of your hair could be growing and some could be resting or be in a transitional state. Two neighboring hair could be in completely different growth cycles. The three phases of hair growth cycle are:

Anagen: The Growing Phase

Catagen: The Transitioning Stage

Telogen: The Resting Stage

Anagen: The Growing Phase

During the anagen phase hair cell are dividing to form new cells. As the new cells form the old cells are pushed up the hairs shaft. When it reaches about a third of the way up the hair shaft they die and become keratin.

A hair follicle will be in this active stage of growth from one and a half to seven years. During this time it will grow on average a half inch a month. Usually a single hair will not exceed thirty-six inches. On average 85% of hair is in the growth phase.

Catagen: The Transitioning Phase

When the anagen phase is over the hair moves into the catagen or transitional stage this period can last from one to three weeks. During this time the hair stops growing. The follicle shrinks and detaches the hair from the nourishing dermal papilla, which rest begins to rest. The hair stays attached to the follicle. At any give time about one percent of our hair is in the catagen phase.

Telogen: The Resting Phase

After the catagen stage the hair rest anywhere from six weeks to three months. During this time the hair doesn’t grow but stays attached to the follicle while the dermal papilla rests. At the end of this stage the anagen, growing stage begins again, and the old hair is pushed out by the new growing hair. At any given time ten to fifteen percent of hair is in the telogen phase.



NaturalNubian said...

God, I love this blog! It's like a natural black hair encyclopedia!

zainab1 said...

@NaturalNubian...LOL...So glad you enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by and take care.